Back to Directory

Results for Agriculture & Food Systems (AgFS)

1210 Symons Hall 7998 Regents Drive College Park, MD 20742-5551
Sort By:
Name Contact Information Expertise
Zoe Askew

Coordinator

zaskew@umd.edu

410 887-8090

Baltimore County

Nutrient Management

Benjamin E Beale

Principal Agent

bbeale@umd.edu

301 475-4481

St. Mary's County

Southern Maryland Cluster

Agronomic Crop Production

Fruits & Vegetables Crops

Beginning Farmer

Herbicide Resistant Weed Management

Doris Behnke

Principal Agent Associate

dbehnke@umd.edu

410 996-5280

Cecil County

Master Gardener Coordinator

Vineyard Management

Home Horticulture

General Agriculture

Bryan R Butler

Principal Agent

bbutlers@umd.edu

410 386-2760

Tree Fruits

Vegetables High Tunnels

Small Fruit

Hops and Barley

Carroll County

Northern Maryland Cluster

Sunoh Che

Assistant Professor

sche@umd.edu

301 405-1376

Poultry management

Veterinary epidemiology

Statistical model building

Metabolic disorders of chickens

David L Clement

Principal Agent

clement@umd.edu

410 531-5558

Plant Pathology

Ornamental IPM

Ornamental Diseases

Ornamental Disease Management

HGIC

Home Gardening

Erika Crowl

Senior Agent Associate

ecrowl@umd.edu

410 887-8090

Nutrient Management

General Agriculture

Equine

Baltimore County

Northern Maryland Cluster

Nevin Dawson

Faculty Specialist

ndawson@umd.edu

(301)364-4174

Grants

Grant Management

Grant Writing

Sustainable Agriculture

Soil Health

Conservation Tillage

Cover Crops

Forest Stewardship

Caroline County

Shannon P Dill

Principal Agent, Agriculture

sdill@umd.edu

410 822-1244

Agriculture Business

Farm Management

Marketing

Crop Budgets

Talbot County

Mid-Shore Cluster

Women In Agriculture

Beginning Farmer

Christopher S Dowell

Coordinator

csdowell@umd.edu

301 226-7440

410 535-3662

Calvert County

Prince George's County

Nutrient Management

Joseph A Fiola

Principal Agent

jfiola@umd.edu

301 432-2767 x344

Viticulture

Small Fruit

Enology

Fruit Breeding

WMREC

Casey Foreman

Coordinator

cforema1@umd.edu

410 758-0166

Queen Anne's County

Nutrient Management

Andrea Franchini

Ext Prog Asst

andrea1@umd.edu

301 226-7416

Urban Agriculture

Stanton A Gill

Principal Agent

sgill@umd.edu

301 596-9413

Nursery & Greenhouse Management

Nathan Glenn

Agent Associate

nglenn@umd.edu

410 313-2704

Farm Business Management

Agricultural and Resource Economics

Livestock Management

Howard County

Amanda Grev

Agent

agrev@umd.edu

301 432-2767 x339

Forages

Pasture & Hay Production

Pasture Management

Rotational Grazing

Livestock

Beef Cattle

Dairy Cattle

Small Ruminants

Equine

Kayla M Griffith

Faculty Specialist

kmgriffi@umd.edu

301 226-7439

Prince George's County

Nutrient Management

Susan R. Harrison

Principal Agent Associate

leadmd@umd.edu

410 827-8056 x136

LEAD Maryland Program

Public Issues Education

leadership fellowship

leadership development

LEAD Maryland Foundation

Wye REC

general agriculture, natural resources, rural community leadership

Sarah M Hirsh

Agent

shirsh@umd.edu

410 651-1350

Somerset County

Lower Shore Cluster

Agronomy

Agronomy Field Crops

soils

Cover Crops

Nutrient Management

Herbicide Resistant Weed Management

Patricia A. Hoopes

Coordinator

phoopes@umd.edu

410 638-3255

Harford County

Nutrient Management

Environmental Science

Consultant

soils

Coordinator

Darren H Jarboe

Principal Agent & Assistant Director

jarboe@umd.edu

301 405-6935

Assistant Director and Agriculture and Food Systems Program Leader

Agribusiness Management

Agricultural Production

Biorenewables

Entrepreneurship

Technology Commercialization

Dale M. Johnson

Principal Agent

dmj@umd.edu

301 405-1275

301 432-2767 x325

Farm Management

Dwayne D. Joseph

Agent

dwaynej@umd.edu

443 480-8369

Integrated Weed Management

Kent County

Upper Shore Cluster

Andrew A. Kness

Senior Agent

akness@umd.edu

410 638-3255

Agronomy

Plant Pathology

Pasture Management

Diseases of Field Crops

Soils

Hemendra Kumar

Precision Agriculture Specialist

hemendra@umd.edu

301 226-7405

Precison Agriculture

Irrigation Management

Soil Physics

Soil Moisture

Optimization

Agricultural Water Management

Digital Agriculture

Hydrology

Water Quality

Surface and Subsurface Hydrologic Modeling

Statistics

Climate Smart Water Management

William D Lantz

Principal Agent

wlantz@umd.edu

301 334-6960

Livestock

Dairy

Beef Cattle

Goats

Forages

Beginning Farmer

Alternative Ag

Farm Management

4-H

Robotics

Engineering

Vegetables

High Tunnels

Tomatoes

Small Fruit

Strawberries

Raspberries

Garrett County

Western Maryland Cluster

Neith Little

Senior Agent

nglittle@umd.edu

301-226-7415

Baltimore City

Urban Agriculture

Soil Science

Small and Beginning Farms

Santana Mays

Agent Associate

smays1@umd.edu

410 887-8090

4-H

Animal Sciences

Livestock

Youth Development

4-H Youth Development

Camping

Krista Mitchell

Coordinator

kristaw@umd.edu

410 313-2709

Howard County

Nutrient Management

Jeff Moore

Coordinator

jfmoore@umd.edu

410 758-0166

Queen Anne's County

Nutrient Management

Jonathan Moyle

Principal Agent

jmoyle@umd.edu

410 742-1178 x309

Poultry Specialist

LESREC

Ronald David Myers

Principal Agent

myersrd@umd.edu

301 226-7473

Fruits & Vegetables Crops

Agronomy Field Crops

Weed Science

Pesticide Use & Safety

No-Tillage Technology

Pasture & Hay Production

Anne Arundel County

Capital Cluster

Kelly Nichols

Agent

kellyn@umd.edu

301-590-2807

Agronomy

Beginning Farmer

Commercial Horticulture

Food Safety Modernization Act Produce Safety

Integrated Weed Management

Maegan A Perdue

Senior Agent Associate

mperdue@umd.edu

301 226-7543

Livestock

Goats

Sheep

Pasture Management

Worcester County

Lower Shore Cluster

Nutrient Management

Poultry

Small Ruminants

Equine

Beef Cattle

Jennifer L Rhodes

Principal Agent

jrhodes@umd.edu

410 758-0166

Women In Agriculture

Risk Management education

Crop Budgets

Grain Marketing

Commercial Poultry

Agronomy Field Crops

Nutrient Management

Poultry Extension Activities

Queen Anne's County

Upper Shore Cluster

Andrew G. Ristvey

Principal Agent & Extension Specialist for Commercial Horticulture

aristvey@umd.edu

410 827-8056 x113

Commercial Horticulture

Alternative Specialty Crops

Green Roof

Aronia

Wye REC

Kamil Rosales

Faculty Assistant

krosale1@umd.edu

410 386-2760

Carroll County

Nutrient Management

Ginny Rosenkranz

Principal Agent Associate

rosnkrnz@umd.edu

667 253-3903

Commercial Horticulture

Ornamental IPM

Turfgrass IPM

Master Gardener Coordinator

Lower Shore Cluster

Commercial Horticulture

Cut flower

Charlie Sasscer

Agent Associate

csasscer@umd.edu

Livestock

Beef Cattle

Pasture Management

Direct Marketing Farm-Raised Meats

Haley Sater

Agent

hsater@umd.edu

667 253-3909

Charles F Schuster

Senior Agent Emeritus

cfs@umd.edu

301 590-2807

Commercial Horticulture

Howard County

Montgomery County

Central Maryland Cluster

Small and Beginning Farms

Turf nutrient management.

Nutrient Management

Vegetables

Jeff Semler

Principal Agent

jsemler@umd.edu

301 791-1304

Washington County

Western Maryland Cluster

Small Ruminants

Forage Systems Management

Beef Cattle

Dairy Cattle

Pasture & Hay Production

Pasture Management

Agronomy Field Crops

Rotational Grazing

Paul Shipley

Faculty Extension Assistant

prs@umd.edu

301 405-2563

Debbie Simpkins

Senior Agent Associate

debstan@umd.edu

410 827-8056 x176

Wye REC

LEAD Maryland; Leadership Development; Leadership curriculum; Leadership education for adults serving agriculture, natural resources and rural communities; 

Greg Simpson

Coordinator

simpsong@umd.edu

301 475-4480

St. Mary's County

Nutrient Management

Sabrina Summers

Coordinator

sabsum@umd.edu

301 600-1594

Frederick County

Nutrient Management

Mark Townsend

Agent Associate

mtownsen@umd.edu

301 600-3578

Agronomy

Grain Marketing

Soil Health

Agricultural Economics

Regenerative Agriculture

Kurt Vollmer

Agent

kvollmer@umd.edu

410 827-8056

Weed Management

Francis Warring

Coordinator

fwarring@umd.edu

301 226-7514

Charles County

Nutrient Management

Anne-Meredith Webster

Coordinator

amw99@umd.edu

410 749-6141

301 405-7274

Wicomico County

Nutrient Management

Xuan Wei

Agent

xuanwei@umd.edu

301 596-9330

Urban Agriculture

Agricultural Business

Consumer Behavior

Experimental Economics

Economic Impact Analysis

Specialty Crop Marketing

Craig Yohn

Coordinator

cyohn@umd.edu

410 479-4030

Caroline County

Talbot County

Nutrient Management

Precison Agriculture

Farm Management

Forage Management

Livestock Management

Emily Zobel

Senior Agent Associate

ezobel@umd.edu

410 228-8800

Entomology

Insects

Integrated Pest Management

Vegetable Insects

Vegetable & Fruit IPM

Vegetables

Home Garden Insects

Dorchester County

Master Gardener Coordinator