Organizational Structure

Organizational Structure

The University of Maryland is the administering institution and has fiscal and administrative responsibilities for NRAC operation. The Center consists of a Board of Directors, the primary policy-making body of NRAC, the Technical Advisory Committee (TAC), the Industry Advisory Committee, (IAC) and the TIAC (Technical Industry Advisory Committee) which is comprised of the TAC and IAC.

The Center Director provides leadership for the regional activities of NRAC. The Director’s Responsibilities include:

  1. Serve as executive secretary to the Board of Directors;
  2. Serve as an ex-officio member of the Technical/Industry Advisory Councils;
  3. Coordinate development of research and extension plans, budgets and proposals;
  4. Coordinate and facilitate interactions among the Administrative Center, Board of Directors and Technical/Industry Advisory Council;
  5. Monitor research and extension activities sponsored by NRAC;
  6. Arrange for external peer review of proposals for technical and scientific merit, feasibility, and applicability to priority problems;
  7. Prepare summary budgets and reports as required under the grants;
  8. Prepare and submit to USDA the NRAC plan of work and annual report;
  9. Recruit other Administrative Center staff as required;
  10. Maintain liaison with other Regional Aquaculture Centers;
  11. Serve as a member of the National Coordinating Council for the Regional Aquaculture Centers in conjunction with other Regional Center Directors and USDA representatives;  
  12. Facilitate communication amongst and between the research, extension and industry communities in the Northeast; and
  13. Transferring funds for implementation of all projects approved under the grants and contracts.

Board of Directors

A Board of Directors representing the region's aquaculture industries, academic institutions and government agencies, provides overall direction and management of NRAC.

University of Maryland AGNR Dean Rep
Dr. Adel Shirmohammadi

Associate Dean/Associate Director
Maryland Agicultural Experiment Station
College of Agriculture and Natural Resources
1201 Symons Hall
University of Maryland
College Park, MD 20742
Telephone: 301-405-2462
Fax: 301-314-9089

1890 University Representative
Dr. Moses T. Kairo

Professor and Dean
School of Agricultural and Natural Sciences
University of Maryland Eastern Shore
Suite 3055 Richard A. Hazel Hall
Princess Anne, MD 21853
Telephone: 410-651-6072

ARS Appointee
Dr. Caird Rexroad

USDA ARS Office of National Programs
George Washington Carver Center Room 4-2106
5601 Sunnyside Ave.
Beltsville, MD 20705
Telephone:  301-504-5925

Sea Grant Director
Dr. Sylvain De Guise, D.M.V., Ph.D.

Connecticut Sea Grant College Program
University of Connecticut Avery Point
1080 Shennecossett Road
Groton, CT 06340-6048
Telephone:  860-405-9138

Experiment Station Director
Dr. Richard Rhodes - BOD CHAIR
University of Rhode Island
111 Woodward Hall
Kingston, RI 02881
Telephone:  401-874-2468
Fax:  401-874-4017

Experiment Station Director
Dr. Frederick A. Servello

Associate Dean, College of Natural Sciences, Forestry & Agriculture
Associate Director, Maine Agricultural and Forest Experiment Station
5782 Winslow Hall, Room 101
telephone:  207-581-3228
Fax:  207-581-3207

Extension Director
Dr. Michael O'Neill

Associate Dean & Associate Director
UCONN Extension College of Agriculture & Natural Resources
1376 Storrs Road
Storrs, CT 06269
Telephone:  860-486-6270
Fax:  860-486-0264

Extension Director
Dr. William W. Hare

Associate Director Cooperative Extension Service
Director, DC Water Resources Research Institute
College of Agriculture, Urban Sustainability
and Environmental Sciences (CAUSES)
University of the District of Columbia
4200 Connecticut Avenue NW
Washington, DC 20008
Telephone: 202-274-7133
Fax:  202-274-7130

Industry Non-LGU Representative
Mr. Karl R. Roscher

Aquaculture Division Director
Maryland Dept of Natural Resources
Fisheries Services
909 Crystal Spring Farm Road
Annapolis, MD 21403
Telephone:  410-263-4552

NIFA Representative
Dr. Gene W. Kim

National Program Leader for Aquaculture
Waterfront Building - Room 3409
800 9th Street
Washington, DC 20024
Telephone:  202-401-1108
Fax:  202-401-6156

Technical Advisory Committee

Research and extension priorities are established by a Technical-Industry Advisory Committee (TIAC) consisting of a Technical Advisory Committee (TAC) and an Industry Advisory Committee (IAC). The Technical Advisory Committee includes key aquaculture researchers and extension agents in the region.

Connecticut - Vacant

Dr. Dennis McIntosh

Professor & Extension Specialist - Aquaculture
Delaware State University
1200 N. DuPont Hwy
Dover, DE 19901
Telephone:  302-857-6456

Dr. Stephen D. Eddy (Co-Chair)

Center for Cooperative Aquaculture Research
University of Maine
33 Salmon Farm Rd. 
Franklin, ME 04634
Telephone:  207-422-9096

Mr. Don Webster

College of Agriculture & Natural Resources
University of Maryland Extension
Wye Research & Education Center
P.O. Box 169
124 Wye Narrows Drive
Queenstown, MD 21658
Telephone:  410-827-8056

Massachusetts - Vacant

New Hampshire
Dr. Elizabeth Fairchild

Department of Biological Sciences
School of Marine Science and Ocean Engineering
University of New Hampshire
38 Academic Way
Durham, NH 03824
Telephone:  603-862-4475
Fax:  603-862-3784

New Jersey
Dr. Daphne Munroe

Haskin Shellfish Research Laboratory
6959 Miller Avenue
Port Norris, NJ 08349
Telephone:  856-785-0074 ext. 4325
Fax:  856-785-1544

New York 
Dr. Rodman G. Getchell

Research Scientist
Aquatic Animal Health Program
Department of Microbiology and Immunology
College of Veterinary Medicine
Cornell University
Ithica, New York 14853
Telephone:  607-253-3393
Fax:  607-253-3384

Pennsylvania - Vacant

Rhode Island 
Dr. Marta Gomez-Chiarri (Chair)

Dept of Fisheries, Animal and Veterinary Science
University of Rhode Island
169 CMBS, 120 Flagg Road
Kingston, RI 02881
Telephone:  401-874-2917
Fax:  401-874-7575

Vermont - Vacant

Washington, DC
Dr. Brunno da Silva Cerozi
Project Specialist for Urban Agriculture
University of the District of Columbia
4200 Connecticut Avenue NW
Washington, DC 20008
Telephone:  202-236-1742

West Virginia
Dr. Patricia M. Mazik

Fish and Wildlife Research Unit
U.S. Geological Society
West Virginia University
322 Percivall Hall
Morgantown, WV 26506-4943
Telephone:  304-293-4943
Fax:  304-293-4826

Industry Advisory Committee

Research and extension priorities are established by a Technical-Industry Advisory Committee (TIAC) consisting of a Technical Advisory Committee (TAC) and an Industry Advisory Committee (IAC). The Industry Advisory Committee represents principal commercial aquaculture interests in the Northeast.

Connecticut - Vacant 

Delaware - Vacant

Mr. Mattew E. Moretti

Wild Ocean Aquaculture/Bangs Island Mussels
72 Commercial St.
Building #5
Portland, ME 04101
Telephone:  207-458-6288

Mr. Talmage Petty 

Hollywood Oyster Company, LLC
P.O. Box 575
Hollywood, MD  20636
Telephone:  301-710-6396

Dr. Daniel P. Ward (Chair)

51 Falmouth Highway
North Falmouth, MA 02556
Telephone:  603-505-0865

New Hampshire
Mr. Brian S. Gennaco (Co-Chair)

Virgin Oyster Company, LLC
19 Tuttle Lane
Dover, NH 03801
Telephone:  781-367-6294

New Jersey - Vacant

New York 
Dr. Steve Malinowski

Fishers Island Oyster Farm
P.O. Box 402
Fishers Island, NY 06390
Telephone: 631-788-7899

Pennsylvania - Vacant 

Rhode Island  - Vacant

Vermont - Vacant

Washington, DC
Mr. Greg Casten 

1900 Fenwick Street, NW
Washington, DC 20002
Telephone:  202-529-3003
Fax:  202-832-1879

West Virginia
Dr. Daniel Miller

Senior Scientist
Potesta and Associates, Inc.
125 Lakeview Drive
Morgantown, WV 26508
Telephone:  304-225-2245