College of Agriculture & Natural Resources

The Thomas Soldan Healthy Communities Scholarship

Sponsor:   |  Application Deadline: January 31, 2018

Scholarship URL:

Scholarship Description

To further champion the cause of developing healthy communities, Mr. Soldan is investing in the future and has offered a scholarship of $500 to any student in a post-secondary education seeking means to encourage sustainable and local health-initiatives in his or her own community.

Eligibility Requirements

This scholarship is open to a student currently enrolled in an accredited community college, undergraduate, or graduate program in the United States.  This includes incoming first-year college students who are high school graduates or possess a GED. The scholarship candidate must possess a proven record of interest in healthy communities through past and present volunteer, professional, or educational experiences. All eligible candidates must be in good academic standing, maintaining a cumulative average grade of a B (3.0 GPA).

Application Information

A resumé, that includes academic, professional, and volunteer experience. A 500-word statement identifying the applicant and her or his past and future dedication to healthy communities and sustainable initiatives. The personal statement should make clear how the candidate would use his or her continued education to turn become a champion of accessible and health- and local-activities programs. A current official transcript from the applicant’s school (NOTE: First-year college students may submit an official transcript from their most recent school, as well as an unofficial transcript from their current post-secondary institution.)




HOW TO APPLY: Scholarship candidates must submit a complete application by no later than March 1, 2016.  The materials should be submitted all together by U.S. mail or fax.  Candidates may address fax or mail submissions to:

Thomas Soldan Healthy Communities Scholarship

20 West Street Suite B

Leesburg, VA, 20176

Fax: 703-940-9145

DEADLINE: 03/01/2016

Maintained by the IET Department of the College of Agriculture and Natural Resources. © 2018. Web Accessibility