College of Agriculture & Natural Resources

Jerry Minore Scholarship Available for Agricultural Related Degree Seekers

Sponsor: National Wheat Foundation  |  Application Deadline: December 1, 2018

Scholarship URL:

Scholarship Description

Jerry Minore was a longtime friend of the wheat industry and advocate for wheat farmers. To honor his work and life, his company, BASF, has partnered with the National Wheat Foundation to establish a scholarship for students with connections to the wheat industry who are planning careers in agriculture. The Minore Memorial Scholarship will fund four college scholarships for the 2019-2020 academic year: two $1,500 scholarships and two $1,000 scholarships.

Eligibility Requirements

To be eligible for the Minore Memorial Scholarship, students must: • Be a current freshmen, sophomore, or junior pursuing an agricultural-related degree; • Be enrolled in an accredited college, university, junior or community college; • Be a member of the National Association of Wheat Growers (NAWG)*; have a close relative (parent, grandparent) who is a member of NAWG; OR be nominated by someone sitting on the NAWG Board of Directors or a state wheat association board.

Application Information

Applicants for the Minore Memorial Scholarship should submit: 1. A completed application form; 2. Two letters of recommendation, for instance from a professor, academic advisor or nominating sponsor; 3. A current transcript; 4. A response to one of the following essay questions, no more than one type-written page in a 12-point font: Question 1: How would you help educate and teach the next generation about the value and importance of wheat to our nation and consumers around the world? Question 2: Do you believe there is a division in the general views of agriculture between urban and rural dwellers in the United States? What do you think is the origin of this? What do you think is the solution, if there needs to be a solution? All applications must be emailed ON or BEFORE Dec. 1, 2018.


Maintained by the IET Department of the College of Agriculture and Natural Resources. © 2018. Web Accessibility